HTC Thunderbolt

HTC Thunderbolt

Postby bluwater1959 » Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:46 am

I have a HTC Thunderbolt (CDMA) and want to change to straight talk. Can I purchase an inexpensive CDMA phone from Straight Talk and use the sim card from that phone in my phone to use the service?
bluwater1959
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:42 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby John » Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:56 pm

Hi bluwater1959. My name is Straight Talk John and I will be addressing your question. Our BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone) program will only work with GSM phone particularly on AT&T, T-Mobile, unlocked domestic phones. We are not able to use phones which doesn't have a SIM card slot or any CDMA phone. For more details of this program, you may also visit: www.straighttalksim.com.

Thank you.
John
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:12 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby bluwater1959 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:28 am

The Thunderbolt is a CDMA phone, but uses a sim card... Do you have any CDMA phones that use a sim as well in your phone lineup?
bluwater1959
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:42 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby bluwater1959 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:36 am

I think that the sim slot is because it is also a 700LTE phone as well as a CDMA
bluwater1959
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:42 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby fathead » Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:21 am

bluwater, cdma phones do not have sim cards. It is possible to have cdma phones professionally reflashed to work on the straight talk verizon towers, but this is rather expensive ($65 to $100). It might be better to buy a new phone.
fathead
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:20 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby John » Sun Jun 17, 2012 2:41 pm

No, bluwater1959. This phone model will not work. We only cater phones that I've mentioned on my first post. Thanks!
John
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:12 am

Re: HTC Thunderbolt

Postby fathead » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:50 pm

bluwater1959 wrote:I think that the sim slot is because it is also a 700LTE phone as well as a CDMA


Oh, I see. The sim card in your phone is for the verizon LTE towers (4g data) only. The voice and text goes over the CDMA network. A GSM sim would not work in your sim card slot.
fathead
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:20 am


Return to Getting started, adding Airtime and other general Straight Talk discussions.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Imjflamesz, Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests